Revamped Creative Drive kicks off in 2019!

My 2019 days have been filled with upward stumbles in the creative department and good cheer. I hope the rest of the year follows this trend!

We’ll see about getting a new logo, this’ll do for now!

I had the pleasure of revamping my tentative podcast experiment known as Creative Drive into a proper podcast production with the help of my awesome wife, Maddie! It’s so nice to be able to find something that we can do together that’s not only fun to do, but a good opportunity to learn as we go. So far, we have two episodes to our credit and it feels right. Creative Drive started to sate the need to document and produce content on the regular. As we come upon the one year anniversary of this podcast experiment, I wanted to start investing more time and energy into something that I know will yield a positive message for us, and for anyone listening. In a nutshell, this iteration of the show will still cover my trial and error process of maintaining a decent work/life/creativity balance, as well as a brief conversation with Maddie on book and other content recommendations. I’ll still be doing some mini pep talks for working class creatives as well, all packaged in a short pod under thirty minutes. we have a lot to learn, but I couldn’t be more pleased with the first two episodes.

Yep, that’s it: Our living room setup Saturday night when we talked about gratitude journals and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. We had such a blast! It’s not much, but we have to start somewhere!
Now that I’m not forcing my gear to handle 4K video, I can actually work on my laptop and enjoy editing these shows. Just puts a smile on my face.

Coming from the exhausting nature of wedding videography, I am cautiously building new routines and I don’t want to overwork myself. It’s not about that right now. I don’t want to bite more than I can chew, I want this new goal to grow organically. It’s taken us so long to get into a comfortable work/life balance, the last thing I want to do is have the podcast or any new project upset the order of things. Let’s ease the creativity into the mix and we’ll go from there.

There’s never been a better time to do this. So here I am, trying to make this shit work. It’s not much, but the little increments inspire me to do more. I am free but overwhelmed, tired but leaping with joy, longing and aiming. Most of all, I’m desperately trying to be here, in the present, loving every goddamn second. It’s late and I have to get up early.

Don’t forget to get started on your happiness. We got this.

Much love,

j

Listen to Creative Drive on iTunes

Listen to Creative Drive on Google Podcasts

Listen to Creative Drive on Spotify

For all other options, check out our page on Anchor!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.